Get OSHA Training Now, Pay as low as $17.5 with Afterpay

OSHA30Construction Online Training in Utah

Utah has an official “State Plan,” executed by the Utah Division of Occupational Safety and Health (UOSH) under Utah’s Labor Commission.

In addition, not only does it cover state and local government employees, but the state plan also encompasses most private sector workplaces except for:

  1. Maritime employment, including shipyard employment, marine terminals, and longshoring;
  2. Contract workers and contractor-operated facilities engaged in United States Postal Service (USPS) mail operations;
  3. Employment on Hill Air Force Base;
  4. Employment at the United States Department of Energy’s (DOE) Naval Petroleum and Oil Shale Reserve to the extent that it remains a U.S. DOE facility;
  5. Employment at the Tooele Army Depot, which includes the Tooele Chemical Demilitarization Facility;
  6. The enforcement of the field sanitation standard, 29 CFR 1928.110, and the enforcement of the temporary labor camps standard, 29 CFR 1910.142, concerning any agricultural establishment where workers are engaged in “agricultural employment” – within the meaning of the Migrant and Seasonal Agricultural Worker Protection Act, 29 U.S.C. 1802(3) – regardless of the number of workers.
  7. All working conditions of aircraft cabin crewmembers onboard aircraft in operation.

State Plan Standards

While UOSH adopts most federal standards, it occasionally adds new criteria to those standards. These supplements are included in Title R614 of the Utah Administrative Code, and more details are available on the Utah State Plan website. In the following categories, Utah has exceptional standards:

General Industry

  • Rail Tracks
  • Elevators, Escalators, Aerial Trams, Manlifts, Workers’ Hoists
  • Flammable and Other Hazardous Liquids
  • Explosives and Blasting Agents
  • Processes and Equipment Involving the Use of Filters
  • Flammable Solids
  • Personal Protective Equipment
  • Lockouts and Tagging
  • Emergency Response
  • Crawler Locomotive and Truck Cranes
  • Conveyors
  • Centrifuges
  • Window Cleaning
  • Foundries
  • House and Building Moving
  • Meat, Food, and Tobacco Processing and Packing
  • Drilling Industries (Other than Oil and Gas)
  • Motor Vehicle Transportation of Workers
  • Worker Intoxication
  • Oil and Gas Drilling, Servicing, and Production


  • Grizzlies Over Chutes, Bins, and Tank Openings
  • Cranes and Derricks
  • Roofing Operations
  • Asphalt Mixing and Rock Crushing Operations
  • Slow-Moving Vehicles
  • Roll-Over Protective Structures (ROPS) for Agricultural Tractors
  • Guarding of Farm Field Equipment, Farmstead Equipment
  • Field Sanitation
  • Walking-Working Surfaces
  • Flammable and Other Hazardous Liquids; Combustible Substances
  • Personal Protective and Lifesaving Equipment
  • Labor Camp Sanitation
  • Confined Space Entry
  • Medical Services and First Aid
  • Electrical Hazards
  • Toxic Substances
  • Pesticides
4.9 (251 Ratings)
Unlock the best site safety procedures and prevention measures through OSHA 30-Hour Construction Training and save yourself and your company from serious OSHA violations.
30 HRS
$189 $150
4.7 (165 Ratings)
Unlock the best site safety procedures and prevention measures through OSHA 30-Hour Construction Training and save yourself and your company from s...
30 HRS
$189 $150
4.5 (107 Ratings)
Unlock the best site safety procedures and prevention measures through OSHA 30-Hour Construction Training and save yourself and your company from serious OSHA violations.
30 HRS
$189 $150

In Utah, most construction employers favor OSHA 30 certified staff over untrained labor. It is encouraged for workers who are interested in management or supervisory positions in the construction industry to register for online OSHA 30 training in Utah because the course OSHA30Construction includes important safety subjects relevant to job operations.

Investing in an OSHA30Construction training course also has a variety of advantages, including:

  • Preventing OSHA penalties and expensive charges.
  • Reduction of workers’ compensation costs.
  • Enhancing the profitability and productivity of the workplace.

Construction Industry Statistics in Utah

The construction industry supported Utah’s $188.5 billion GDP to the tune of $12.0 billion (6.4%). In 2017, Utah had 9,521 construction companies.

In 2019, Utah saw private nonresidential spending reach $2.1 billion. $4.3 billion was spent on state and municipal expenses.

Utah had 118,400 people employed in the construction industry in July 2020, up 7.8% from July 2019 but down 1% from the state’s peak in June 2020.

According to the 2020 AGC-Autodesk Workforce Survey, on June 30, 2020, there were 60% of unfilled hourly craft positions in the United States and 73% in Utah.

In 2019, the median pay for four out of Utah’s top five most prevalent construction occupations was more significant than the state’s average wage for all workers.

30-Hours OSHA Construction

Get OSHA30Construction in

$150 instead of $189

Labor Laws in Utah

Fair Employment PracticesAccording to the Utah Antidiscrimination Act (UADA), it is unlawful to mistreat someone or harass them because of their race, color, gender, pregnancy, childbirth, or conditions connected to pregnancy, age, religion, national origin, handicap, sexual orientation, or gender identity.

The UADA, which applies to businesses with 15 or more staff members, forbids retribution against staff members who report or oppose unlawful discrimination, register complaints, or participate in proceedings, investigations, or hearings.
Pregnancy AccommodationAn employer must make reasonable accommodations for pregnancy, delivery, nursing, and related conditions if they have 15 or more employees, according to the UADA. If an employee doesn't request more frequent breaks for food, toilet, or water, an employer may ask them to give certification outlining their medical need for reasonable accommodation.
Drug TestingAn employer who tests job candidates for drugs and alcohol must adhere to several requirements, including the employer and its management must periodically submit to similar drug and alcohol testing; the employer must cover all testing costs; the applicant must be given a chance to inform the employer of any information that they feel is pertinent.
Minimum WageThe federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, which is also Utah's minimum wage. Utah's minimum wage may not be higher than federal minimum wage.
Child LaborAll jobs that haven't been classified as hazardous are open to minors 16 years of age and older. They also include jobs requiring the use of a car if the minor has a state-issued permit allowing them to drive for work. A meal break of at least 30 minutes must be given to minors, and it must happen five hours after the start of the workday.

A paid rest break that lasts at least 10 minutes is required for minors who labor for at least three hours. Minors have a right to two paid rest breaks that last at least ten minutes each when they work for at least eight hours.
Health Care ContinuationAll businesses must comply with Utah's continuous health care coverage requirement. An employee and their covered dependents who lose coverage due to the employee's death, job termination, a reduction in hours, retirement, divorce or legal separation, a dependent child ceasing to be a covered dependent, sabbatical, disability, or leave of absence are required by law to be offered a continuation of health care coverage for up to 12 months by the employer.
Pay FrequencyEmployees must be paid at least twice a month on predetermined regular paydays. Employees who receive annual salaries must receive at least monthly compensation.
Wage NoticesAn employer must display a written notice at the time of hire informing new hires of their pay rate, pay dates, and place of payment.
Wage DeductionsIn Utah, a court order, a state or federal statute, such as those requiring the withholding of child support, creditor garnishments, or tax levies, as well as an employee's written consent and certain debts, shortages, losses, or damages may all cause an employer to withhold wages.
Leaves of AbsenceUtah has few regulations requiring employees to take leave, and these laws apply to all companies. These rules cover jury duty/witness leave, voting leaves, leave for minor children to appear in court, leave for the armed forces, and leave for first responders.
Smoke-Free WorkplaceThe Utah Indoor Clean Air Act forbids smoking (including using e-cigarettes) in all enclosed indoor public spaces, including any workplace that is not a public place but has one or more employees who are not the business's owner-operators.
Weapons in the WorkplaceAs long as the firearm is kept securely in the car and is not on display, a Utah employer may not restrict or forbid employees from keeping their lawfully owned guns in their vehicles when parked on employer property.
Safe Driving PracticesIn Utah, it is illegal for drivers to text, send emails, make phone calls, use the internet, watch or record videos, or enter data while operating a handheld wireless communication device.
Final PayFinal earnings must be paid by the following regular payday in cases when an employee leaves their job voluntarily or if work is suspended due to a labor dispute. All pay owed to a terminated or laid-off employee must be paid within 24 hours of the termination.

If the successor of a deceased employee provides an affidavit attesting to specific facts, the employer may pay all wages due.

Frequently Asked Questions

Safety coordinator, Evidence technician, Equipment operator, Maintenance mechanic, Site safety and health officer, Site superintendent etc.

There is no stated expiry date by OSHA. However, employees must renew their OSHA cards every five years due to specific changes in occupational standards.

Yes, an Online OSHA 30-hour training course is accepted in Utah.

Yes, the Utah Division of Occupational Safety and Health (UOSH).

Get Registered Now

Start Your OSHA30Construction Course at Your Own Comfort

Start Your OSHA30Construction Course at Your Own Comfort