BUY NOW

OSHA30Construction Online Training in Tennessee

Tennessee’s official “State Plan” is administered by Tennessee OSHA (TOSHA) under the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development led by the Commissioner.

The Tennessee State Plan not only covers state and local government employees but also applies to private-sector workplaces except for:

  1. Maritime employment (including shipyard employment, marine terminals, and longshoring, but not including marine construction, which TOSHA covers);
  2. Contract workers and contractor-operated facilities engaged in United States Postal Service (USPS) mail operations;
  3. Railroad employment, not otherwise regulated by another federal agency;
  4. Employment at Tennessee Valley Authority facilities and on military bases; and
  5. All working conditions of aircraft cabin crew members onboard aircraft in operation.

State Plan Standards and Regulations

Though TOSHA has adopted almost all OSHA standards and regulations, it also has the following unique standards:

General Industry:

  • Smoking in the Workplace
  • Firefighter Protection
  • Electrical Hazards
  • Sharps Injury Prevention
  • Hazard Communication
  • Toxic Chemicals and Handling

In Tennessee, most construction employers favor OSHA 30 certified staff over untrained labor. It is encouraged for workers who are interested in management or supervisory positions in the construction industry to register for online OSHA 30 training in Tennessee because the course OSHA30Construction includes important safety subjects relevant to job operations.

BEST SELLER
4.9 (251 Ratings)
Unlock the best site safety procedures and prevention measures through OSHA 30-Hour Construction Training and save yourself and your company from serious OSHA violations.
DOL CARD
25 TOPICS
30 HRS
$189 $150
4.7 (165 Ratings)
Unlock the best site safety procedures and prevention measures through OSHA 30-Hour Construction Training and save yourself and your company from s...
DOL CARD
25 TOPICS
30 HRS
$189 $150
4.5 (107 Ratings)
Unlock the best site safety procedures and prevention measures through OSHA 30-Hour Construction Training and save yourself and your company from serious OSHA violations.
DOL CARD
25 TOPICS
30 HRS
$189 $150

Investing in an OSHA30Construction training course also has a variety of advantages, including:

  • Preventing OSHA penalties and expensive charges.
  • Reduction of workers’ compensation costs.
  • Enhancing the profitability and productivity of the workplace.

Construction Industry Statistics in Tennessee

In Tennessee, more than 125,000 men and women work in the construction industry. According to the U.S. Bureau of Labour Statistics, construction workers in the state make an average yearly pay of about $54,000, 14 percent more than the state’s median wage.

To Tennessee’s $380.1 billion GDP, the construction industry contributed $15.1 billion (4.0%). In 2017, Tennessee had 9,847 construction companies.

In Tennessee, private nonresidential spending reached $7.2 billion in 2019. $5.3 billion was spent on state and municipal expenses.

Tennessee had 127,600 people employed in the construction industry in July 2020, a 2.1% decline from July 2019 and 5% less than the state’s peak in January 2008.

According to the 2020 AGC-Autodesk Workforce Survey, on June 30, 2020, 60% of businesses in the United States and 80% of businesses in Tennessee had open hourly craft positions.

Four out of Tennessee’s top five most prevalent construction occupations paid more on average than the average for all state workers in 2019.

30-Hours OSHA Construction

Get OSHA30Construction in

$150 instead of $189

Labor Laws in Tennessee

Fair Employment PracticesThe Tennessee Human Rights Act (THRA), which forbids discrimination and harassment based on a number of protected classifications including race, color, creed, religion, gender, age, and national origin, normally applies to firms with eight or more employees in Tennessee.

Retaliation for opposing discrimination, reporting incidents, and testifying, aiding, or taking part in an investigation, proceeding, or hearing is likewise prohibited by the THRA.
Tennessee Disability ActEmployers are typically prohibited from discriminating against persons because of a physical, mental, or visual disability under the Tennessee Disability Act (TDA).
Equal PayIt is against the law for an employer to pay any employee in a workplace less in salary or wages than the rates paid to employees of the opposite sex for work that is comparable in terms of skill, effort, and responsibility and is carried out in an environment with similar working conditions.
Whistleblower ProtectionsAccording to the Tennessee Public Protection Act (TPPA), an employer cannot discharge an employee for refusing to take part in or keep quiet about illegal acts.
Pregnancy AccommodationAccording to the Tennessee Pregnant Workers Fairness Act, employers with 15 or more employees are required to make reasonable accommodations for employees and job applicants who need them due to being pregnant, giving birth, or having other related medical conditions, unless doing so would make it impossible for the employer to conduct business.
E-VerifyEmployers with six to 34 employees are required by the Tennessee Lawful Employment Act to confirm that all newly hired employees are lawfully permitted to work in the US and their work authorization status, either by using the federal E-Verify system or by asking the employees to present identification and work authorization documents.
Drug TestingThe criteria of the drug-free workplace act must be followed by an employer who runs a drug testing programme. Before testing, an employer must give certain information to candidates. Only after making a conditional offer of employment, the employer may demand that candidates take a drug test. A job applicant's unwillingness to submit to a drug test or a positive confirmed drug test may be grounds for the employer's rejection to hire them.
Meal BreaksEmployees scheduled to work six straight hours in Tennessee must receive a 30-minute unpaid meal break from employers with five or more workers.
Breastfeeding BreaksUnless doing so would unreasonably impair the firm's operations, an employer shall offer an employee who needs to express breast milk for her infant child reasonable, unpaid break time each
Child LaborTennessee law prohibits minors from working in any profession that affects their ability to attend school, their health, or their general well-being. Additionally, minors are not allowed to work in a number of professions such those that require driving a car, mining, forestry, roofing, or excavating. The standard rule for minor employees working six straight hours is that they are entitled to a 30-minute pay rest or meal break.
Health Care ContinuationRegardless of their size, group health insurance policies provided to companies in Tennessee must often provide health care continuation coverage. Regardless of the cause for the termination of health insurance, continuation coverage must be provided to employees and their covered dependents, unless the group policy was canceled entirely or for the insured class to which the employee belongs.
Pay FrequencyAccording to the Tennessee Wage Regulation Act, companies with five or more workers are required to make payroll at least once a month on scheduled paydays.
Wage DeductionsIn accordance with Tennessee law, no deductions from an employee's salary may be made without the employee's prior written consent. The employer may, under certain circumstances, deduct money for health insurance, uniforms, loans or wage advances, and cash shortages or breakage.
Leaves of AbsenceThere aren't many laws in Tennessee governing employees' paid time off and leaves of absence. Parental leave, voting leave, jury duty leave, military leave, Veterans Day off time, and emergency responder leave are all covered by these statutes.
Occupational Safety and HealthThe health and safety of private employees are covered by Tennessee's state plan, which has received federal approval. With a few exceptions, all private companies are covered under the Tennessee Occupational Safety and Health Act.
Smoke-Free WorkplaceThe Non-Smoker Protection Act of Tennessee forbids smoking in the majority of enclosed public areas, including workplaces. Employers are required to post the required signage and notify staff members of the ban.
Safe Driving PracticesThe use of a handheld mobile phone while operating a motor vehicle on a road or highway is illegal in Tennessee, as is talking on the phone while operating the vehicle. However, adults are allowed to use a hands-free system to use a mobile phone while driving.
Weapons in the WorkplaceAn employer has the right to restrict the possession of weapons at meetings they conduct and on property they own, operate, manage, or control by banning all weapons besides a concealed handgun carried by a concealed carry weapon (CCW) permit holder.
Final PayThe employee's full earnings must be paid by the later of the next regular paycheck or 21 days from the date of termination if the business has five or more workers. Up to $10,000 in unpaid wages for a deceased employee may be paid by the company to the beneficiary chosen by the employee. If there isn't a named beneficiary, wages could go to the employee's children or, in the absence of a surviving spouse, the employee's surviving spouse.

Frequently Asked Questions

Safety coordinator, Evidence technician, Equipment operator, Maintenance mechanic, Site safety and health officer, Site superintendent etc.

There is no stated expiry date by OSHA. However, employees must renew their OSHA cards every five years due to specific changes in occupational standards.

Yes, an Online OSHA 30-hour training course is accepted in Tennessee.

Get Registered Now

Start Your OSHA30Construction Course at Your Own Comfort

Start Your OSHA30Construction Course at Your Own Comfort